The Rising Star Award

The Rising Star Award is given to a MOACAC member who has been in the college admission profession less than three years and has contributed to helping students by enthusiastic and professional involvement in the college admission profession.

2017 Rachel Meuser, William Jewell College

2016 Katie Foley, Columbia College

2015 D’Angelo Taylor, Western Illinois University and Kyle Strothmann, St. Louis University

2104 Meredith Rauscher, St. Louis Community College – Meremac

2013 Courtney Musial, Fontbonne University

2012 Tina McNeil, Columbia College

2011 Erica VanBuren, Affton High School

2010 Nicole Buesse, Rockwood Summit High School

Kyle Johnson, Maryville University

2009 Teresa Haney, Southeast Missouri State University

Christy Wills, University of Missouri-St. Louis

2008 Erin Stein, William Jewell College

2007 Courtney Wallace, Missouri University of Science and Technology

2006 Andy Cole, University of Missouri

Chad Sisk, Missouri State University

2005 Mark Giesman, Kirkwood High School

Alpachino Hogue, University of Missouri Columbia

2004 Clint Chapman, University of Missouri Columbia

2003 Jeff Buckman, Saint Louis University

2002 Alan Byrd, Southeast Missouri State University

Pete Belk, Maple Woods Community College

2000 Kelly Burnley, William Jewell College

1999 Dawn Medley, Southeast Missouri State University

President’s Service Recognition Award

Created in 2005, this award recognizes MOACAC members with more than five years’ service who have provided strong and consistent leadership to MOACAC. The recipients are individuals who have dedicated much time to the association. More than one award may be given each year. The recipients will be decided by the three Presidents (President, President-Elect, and Past President) with the President having final approval.

2017 Joann Elliott, MOACAC Executive Assistant

2016 Charlie Hungerford, Southwest Baptist University

2015 Rob Lundien, Staley High School

2014 Mark Clynes, McKendree University

2013 Andrew Wright, Missouri State University

2012 Jamie Staggs, Western Illinois University

2011 Heather Henning, University of Missouri

2010 Ramon Blakley, Saint Louis University

2009 Whitney Carr, Drury University

2008 Katherine Louthan, Maryville University

2007 Scott Hill, The Barstow School

Julie Kampschroeder, Pattonville High School

2006 Beth Brasel, Lafayette High School

2005 Stephanie Thomeczek, Westminster College

The Peggy Clinton Memorial Service Award

Peggy Clinton epitomized the role of the true admission professional. Some of those qualities include being detail-focused and caring for the well being of the students with whom she worked; she had a sense of humor and style. She was an active member of MOACAC and worked during the 60’s and 70’s for William Woods College. Peggy was respected, admired and loved by all.

In 1981, she was stricken by a stroke before a national fair and died soon afterward. In her memory, the Peggy Clinton Memorial Service Award was created. This award is bestowed upon an admission professional who exemplifies the qualities that made Peggy so special. The following names represent those admission professionals who met those unique qualities and were recognized at the MOACAC spring conference by receiving the Peggy Clinton Memorial Service Award.

2017 Chuck May, University of Missouri – Columbia

2016 Beth Brasel, Chaminade College Preparatory School

2015 Alan Byrd, University of Missouri, St. Louis

2014 Jay Goff, St. Louis University

2013 Mary Carpenter, Affton High School

2012 Julie Kampschroeder, Pattonville High School

2011 Barbara Sams, Saint Louis Priory

2010 Regina Morin, Truman State University

2009 Dave Mouldon, St. Louis University High School

2008 Mel Tyler, University of Missouri-Kansas City

2007 Lane Ramey, Rockhurst University

2006 Teresa Wheeler, Brentwood High School

2005 Debi Hudson, Rockhurst High School

2004 Chip Parker, Drury University

2003 Georgeanne Porter, University of Missouri

2002 Chat Leonard, Clayton High School

2001 Tom Arni, Rock Bridge High School

2000 Howard McCauley, Missouri Western State College

1999 Anne Clifford, St. Joseph’s Academy

1998 Peggy Musen, Fontbonne University

1997 Mary Crowder, Clayton High School

1996 James Sinner, Ladue Horton Watkins High School

1995 Michael G. Thomas, Drury University

1994 Mimi J. La Marca, University of Missouri-St. Louis

1993 Mary Colaw, Parkway North High School

1992 Robert Sortland, John Burroughs School

1991 Robert B. Lewis, University of Missouri-Rolla

1988 Bonnie Butler, The Principia Upper School

1987 Braxton Rethwisch, Central Methodist College

1986 John Corporon, Washington University

1985 Larry Stone, William Jewell College

1984 Bonnie Wallace, Ladue Horton Watkins High School

Braxton Rethwisch Scholarship

Each year the Missouri Association for College Admission Counseling (MOACAC) is pleased to
offer two $1000 scholarships to students who exhibit a commitment to learning and have demonstrated leadership skills and/or community service involvement.

For more information, or to apply for the 2017-2018 Braxton Rethwisch Scholarship, please complete the application  by March 1st, 2018. 

2015 Brooke Lucas – Festus High School

Attending St. Louis College of Pharmacy

2016 Taylor Nelson – North Kansas City High School

Attending Truman State University

2017 Amina Krdzic – Bayless High School

Attending Missouri State University

2017 Ashley Stehle – Villa Duchesne

Attending Fontbonne University

2018 Madelyn Hubbs – Pattonville High School 

Attending Maryville University 

2018 Trey Johnson – Monett High School

Attending Missouri State University

2018 Hailey Herrell – Ava High School

Attending Missouri State University 

2018 Alexandra Casazza – Marquette High School

Attending Washington University


Join over 500+ college admission professionals working together to serve students in the transition from high school to college. Learn more about the benefits of joining MOACAC.

Learn More